Board of Health

  • VIRTUAL MEETING: Due to COVID-19 and social distancing guidelines, the Board of Health meeting scheduled to take place Monday, January 25, 2021 at 3PM, will be held virtually. Register ahead of time to join the meeting by phone or computer. You will receive further instructions by email after you register.


The Board advises the director and requests from the director information it deems necessary. The Board makes rules and regulations, consistent with the rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health for the protection and preservation of public health. 


The Board of Health meets on the 4th Monday of January, April, July and October, at 3:00pm.  (The Board of Health Finance Committee meets at 2:30pm on the same days.)

Board of Supervisors' Conference Room
301 W Jefferson Street
10th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003

View Meeting Agendas and Minutes.

Current Members

Representation Member Current Term
District 1 Don Cassano, Finance 05/09/2018 - 12/31/2021
District 2 Robin Schaeffer 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2024
District 3 Robert D. MacMillan, Finance 01/11/2017 - 12/31/2020
District 4 Kristen Acton
03/07/2018 - 12/31/2020
District 5 Andrew Jacob Rascón
01/30/2019 - 12/31/2020
At-Large Paula Banahan 03/11/2020 - 12/31/2020
At-Large Scott K. Celley 05/09/2019 - 12/31/2020
At-Large Don Hughes, Vice President, Finance 01/11/2017 - 12/31/2020
At-Large Dr. Debra Baldauff 01/11/2017 - 12/31/2020
Physician Representative Dr. Paul E. Stander 05/08/2019 - 12/31/2020
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors Bill Gates, District 3 01/13/2021 - 12/31/2021
Director of Public Health Marcy Flanagan, Ex-Officio  
  1. Member Qualifications
  2. Duties & Powers
  3. Formation Authority

Member Qualifications

A.R.S. § 36-183
  1. In a county having five Supervisorial districts, the Board of Supervisors shall appoint a board of eleven members consisting of a member of the Board of Supervisors, a physician licensed pursuant to title 32, chapter 13, or 17 and 5 citizen members selected for their interest in public health, each citizen member to be a resident of a different supervisorial district so that all 5 supervisorial districts in the county have representatives on the board. In addition, 4 citizen members shall be appointed from the county at large. The term of office of the physician member and each member appointed pursuant to this subsection shall be 4 years.
  2. Appointment to fill a vacancy in the membership of a board caused other than by expiration of term shall be for the unexpired portion of the term.
  3. The director of a county or city-county health department shall serve, without vote, as an ex officio member of the board.
  4. Citizen members appointed pursuant to this section shall not be county health department employees.

For additional member qualification information, see Bylaws, Article IV.

  1. Max Porter

    Deputy Director, Dept. of Public Health

  2. Rebecca Sunenshine

    Disease Control Div Medical Director

  3. Public Health

    Fax: 602-506-6885

Related Documents